english spanish italian


R.E.M. was an American rock band from Athens, Georgia, formed in 1980 by singer Michael Stipe, guitarist Peter Buck, bassist Mike Mills, and drummer Bill Berry. R.E.M. is a band known world wide for their incredible music and memorable hits over the past few decades. From 'Losing My Religion' to 'Everybody Hurts' they have continually produced iconic songs that have shaped the classic rock soundtrack of the modern age. Fans truly recognize and appreciate their unique musicality, as it perfectly fuses folk, pop, country and even alternative rock genres together brilliantly, something we’ve come to expect from an R.E.M song. There is no denying they'll always be remembered in our cultural zeitgeist; sure to be radio staples for ages to come!


Latest news about R.E.M.

Craft Recordings celebrates the 25th anniversary of R.E.M.'s groundbreaking album, Up, with a collection of expanded and remastered editions. Available for pre-order today, these releases offer something special for fans. The Deluxe 2-CD/1 Blu-Ray edition is a treasure trove of material. It includes the band's previously unreleased set from their appearance on Party of Five, a hit TV series. This captivating performance from 1999 features an 11-song setlist, including iconic hits like "Man on the Moon," "Losing My Religion," and "It's the End of the World as We Know It (and I Feel Fine)." Plus, there's a spoken-word introduction to set the mood. The accompanying Blu-Ray adds even more value to this edition. It features HD music videos from the 1998 album, a six-song performance titled Uptake, recorded in a London studio, and the album's original EPK. And, for the ultimate audio experience, the Blu-Ray presents stunning hi-resolution and 5.1 surround sound audio. All of this comes housed in a beautifully designed 32-page hardcover book. Inside, you'll find new liner notes from respected journalist Josh Modell, who has conducted fresh interviews with the band members. It's a must-have for any R.E.M. enthusiast. But that's not all. The expanded reissue is also available in other formats. The 2-CD, digital, and hi-res configurations feature the album and the Party of Five performance in full. And for vinyl lovers, the 14-track, 2-LP album will be reissued on high-quality 180-gram vinyl. For something truly special, there's even a limited-edition pressing on Green Marble vinyl, exclusively available at R.E.M.'s official store. Plus, you can find special Up merchandise there too. No matter which format you choose, you can expect the highest quality audio. The newly remastered audio has been expertly handled by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering.

R.E.M. - A Journey Through an Iconic Band's Musical Biography

With over 30 years of critically acclaimed music, R.E.M. has been one of the most influential alternative rock bands in history. Formed in Athens, Georgia in 1980, the band consisted of Michael Stipe on vocals, Peter Buck on guitar, Mike Mills on bass and Bill Berry on drums. With a unique sound and lyrical insight, R.E.M. set the standard for alternative rock and became cultural icons. In this blog, we will take you on a journey through the band's musical biography, from their beginnings to their most famous albums and songs.

R.E.M. started out as a college band but quickly gained popularity in the local music scene in Athens. Their first full-length album, Murmur, released in 1983, was a critical and commercial success and made the band a household name. With hits such as Radio Free Europe and Talk About The Passion, the band showcased a unique blend of jangly and melodic guitars, arty lyrics, and Michael Stipe's striking voice. The album's success helped establish R.E.M. as one of the most promising bands of their generation.

The band's follow-up album, Reckoning, released just a year later in 1984, further solidified their success. With songs such as So. Central Rain (I'm Sorry) and Pretty Persuasion, the band showcased a broader range of emotions and musical experimentation. Whereas Murmur reveled in its dreamy pop leanings, Reckoning showcased an edgier sound, darker themes and a newfound confidence. The album was a critical and commercial success and marked the ascent of R.E.M. as a rebellious, yet accessible, alternative music act.

In 1987, the band released Document, their fifth studio album and the one that cemented their place in the mainstream. With the hit single The One I Love, the album propelled the band to the top of radio charts, making them a household name beyond the indie scene. With a harder-edged rock sound and politically-charged lyrics, the album was a critical and commercial success and marked R.E.M.'s transition into the world of stadium rock.

Fast forward to 1991, the band released Out Of Time, an album that marked a significant departure from their earlier alternative roots. With hit songs such as Losing My Religion and Shiny Happy People, the album showcased a poppier, more polished sound that made the band even more accessible to mainstream audiences. Despite this transition, Out Of Time still showcased R.E.M.'s distinctive sound and marked one of the most significant moments in their career.

Conclusion: R.E.M.'s musical biography is one defined by experimentation, success, and a lasting influence. Through their innovative sound, thought-provoking lyrics and artistic vision, R.E.M. set a standard that inspired and influenced countless bands that would come after them. Whether through their debut album, Murmur, their crossover success with Document or their more polished hits on Out Of Time, R.E.M. proved to be a band that transcended genres, bound by a unique sound and a lasting legacy.
Tag: R.E.M., musical biography, best songs, playlist
1 - E-Bow the Letter
2 - King of the Road
3 - Radio Free Europe
4 - Losing My Religion
5 - The One I Love
6 - Find the River
7 - There She Goes Again
8 - How The West Was Won And Where
9 - Sitting Still
10 - Drive
11 - Rotary Ten
12 - It's The End Of The World As
13 - Everybody Hurts
14 - Shiny Happy People
15 - Man on the Moon
16 - Nightswimming
17 - Imitation Of Life
18 - What's the Frequency, Kenneth?
19 - Orange Crush
20 - The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite
21 - Bad Day
22 - Stand
23 - The Great Beyond
24 - Daysleeper
25 - Electrolite
26 - At My Most Beautiful
27 - Monty Got A Raw Deal
28 - Ignoreland
29 - Radio Song
30 - Star Me Kitten
31 - Supernatural Superserious
32 - All The Way To Reno
33 - Leaving New York
34 - Talk About The Passion
35 - Fall On Me
36 - Low
37 - Finest Worksong
38 - Driver 8
39 - Texarkana
40 - Perfect Circle
41 - Superman
42 - Bang And Blame
43 - So. Central Rain
44 - Endgame
45 - Strange Currencies
46 - Crush With Eyeliner
47 - Draggin' the Line
48 - Bittersweet Me
49 - Animal
50 - The Wake-Up Bomb
51 - Can't Get There From Here
52 - Sweetness Follows
53 - Try Not To Breathe
54 - New Orleans Instrumental No. 1
55 - All The Right Friends
56 - Hollow Man
57 - Uberlin
58 - I Remember California
59 - (don't Go Back To) Rockville
60 - All The Way To Reno (you're Gonna Be A Star)
61 - Lotus
62 - Near Wild Heaven
63 - Toys In The Attic
64 - Everybody Hurts
2008: Accelerate
2001: Reveal
1998: Up
1997: Rem
1994: Monster
1988: Green
1987: Document
1984: Reckoning
1983: Murmur