english spanish italian

Pianos Become the Teeth

Pianos Become The Teeth is an American screamo band with post-rock influences that formed in 2006. They perform a style of music inspired by post-rock and early screamo acts, and are a part of The Wave — an in-joke began by friends Touché Amoré, La Dispute, Defeater, and Make Do And Mend, all playing a form of post-hardcore music.
The Evolution of Pianos Become the Teeth: A Look at the Band's Best Music and Concerts
If you're a fan of emotive, post-hardcore music, then Pianos Become the Teeth is a band that you cannot miss. Hailing from Baltimore, the five-piece group has been active for over a decade, releasing four albums and several EPs. Their sound has gone through an evolution in the last few years, but one thing has remained constant—their ability to evoke raw emotion through their music. In this article, we'll take a look at the band's musical biography, explore their best songs and performances, and provide a critical analysis of their evolution.
Pianos Become the Teeth was formed in 2006, with the initial lineup consisting of Kyle Durfey on vocals, Chad McDonald and Mike York on guitar, Zac Sewell on bass, and David Haik on drums. The band's debut album, Old Pride, released in 2009, showcased their post-hardcore sound featuring powerful, screamed vocals, and energetic instrumentals that set the stage for their future works. Over the years, the band has evolved in its sound, moving away from the screaming and embracing a more melodic style that is showcased in their 2014 album, Keep You.
One of the band's most notable songs is I'll Get By, which appears on Keep You. The song is a quintessential example of their sound, featuring Durfey's haunting, soulful vocals over a slow, melancholic piano melody. The song's chorus is incredibly powerful and keeps building until it reaches an intense climax that leaves you with goosebumps. Another song worth mentioning is Ripple Water Shine from their 2011 album, The Lack Long After. The song features the band's older sound, with Durfey's guttural screams accenting the visceral guitar riffs.
Pianos Become the Teeth's live performances are an experience that you do not want to miss. The band is known for their energetic and passionate shows that are as intense as they are emotionally charged. Their concert at the 2018 Sound on Sound Festival is a prime example, with the band delivering an electrifying performance of their new sound that was met with an overwhelmingly positive response from the crowd.
Critics have lauded Pianos Become the Teeth for their unique sound and ability to deliver powerful songs that touch the deepest emotions of the listener. Their evolution from a hardcore sound to a more melodic and ethereal style has been well-received, proving that they are a band that will continue to resonate with listeners for years to come.
In conclusion, Pianos Become The Teeth is a band that has had an incredible journey over the years, evolving their sound and delivering some of the most passionate music in the post-hardcore genre. Their willingness to explore new sounds has kept their music fresh and exciting, and their live shows have left a lasting impression on their fans. Whether they are screaming their hearts out or hitting the piano's keys, Pianos Become The Teeth is a band that you cannot miss.


1 - Hiding
2 - I'll Be Damned
3 - Good Times
4 - Such Confidence
5 - I'll Get By
6 - Shared Bodies
7 - Liquid Courage
8 - Filial
9 - Quit Benefit
10 - Pensive
11 - Prev
12 - Spine
13 - Jess And Charlie
14 - Sunsetting
15 - Young Fire
16 - Repine
17 - April
18 - I'll Be Damned
19 - Ripple Water Shine
20 - Sleepshaker
21 - I'll Get By
22 - Cripples Can't Shiver
23 - Say Nothing
24 - Lesions
25 - Old Jaw
26 - Late Lives
27 - Enamor Me
28 - The Queen
29 - Traces
30 - Charisma
31 - Bitter Red
32 - Fake Lighting
33 - Houses We Die In
34 - Gift Of The Giver
35 - All Children Make Mistakes
36 - Idiosyncrasies
37 - 895
38 - Your Sister's Handwriting
39 - Dry Spells
40 - Love On Repeat
41 - Interlude
42 - New Normal
43 - Arizona
44 - Bay Of Dreams
45 - Forever Sound
46 - Bloody Sweet
47 - Manila
48 - Dancing
49 - Blue
2022: Drift
2014: Keep You
2010: Old Pride